How Many Episodes Are There in 'What If?' - Exploring Marvel's Animated Series

How Many Episodes Are There in ‘What If?’ – Exploring Marvel’s Animated Series

How Many Episodes Are There in ‘What If?’ – Exploring Marvel’s Animated Series

Marvel Studios has been captivating audiences with their expansive cinematic universe for over a decade. From Iron Man to Avengers: Endgame, fans have become accustomed to seeing their favorite superheroes come to life on the big screen. However, Marvel’s latest venture takes a different approach, exploring alternate scenarios and storylines in their animated series ‘What If?’

The Premise of ‘What If?’

‘What If?’ offers viewers a unique twist on the Marvel Universe by asking the question, “What if certain events unfolded differently?” Each episode presents an alternative reality where key moments from the films and comics take unexpected turns, resulting in entirely new outcomes. This creative concept allows fans to explore different timelines and possibilities within the Marvel Universe.

The Number of Episodes in the Series

The first season of ‘What If?’ consists of nine exciting episodes, each focusing on a different event or character. The series promises to deliver thrilling stories and unexpected twists that will keep audiences hooked from start to finish.

Episode Titles and Storylines

While Marvel has kept the specific details of each episode under wraps, they have released some intriguing episode titles and hints at the storylines fans can expect to see.

1. “What If… Captain Carter Were the First Avenger?” – This episode explores an alternate reality where Peggy Carter takes the Super Soldier Serum instead of Steve Rogers, becoming the first Avenger.

2. “What If… T’Challa Became a Star-Lord?” – This installment imagines what would have happened if T’Challa, the Black Panther, had been abducted by the Ravagers instead of Peter Quill.

3. “What If… The World Lost Its Mightiest Heroes?” – In this episode, the Avengers mysteriously die before they can unite, leaving the fate of the world in jeopardy.

4. “What If… Doctor Strange Lost His Heart Instead of His Hands?” – This episode explores the consequences if Doctor Strange had suffered a different tragedy that changed his path to becoming a sorcerer.

5. “What If… Zombies!?” – Marvel takes a dark turn in this episode, presenting a world where the zombie apocalypse has infected the superhero community.

6. “What If… Killmonger Rescued Tony Stark?” – This episode reimagines the relationship between Tony Stark and Killmonger from Black Panther, showcasing how their alliance could have altered the Marvel Universe.

7. “What If… Thor Were an Only Child?” – This quirky episode explores an alternate version of Thor’s upbringing, where he is the only child of Odin and grows up without his mischievous brother, Loki.

8. “What If… Ultron Won?” – Fans will see a terrifying reality where Ultron manages to achieve his goal of ultimate power, creating a world under his control.

9. “What If… The Watcher Broke His Oath?” – The final episode of the season presents a unique twist as The Watcher, an omnipotent being overseeing the events of the Marvel Universe, becomes directly involved in the story.

What to Expect from ‘What If?’

‘What If?’ promises to deliver exciting and thought-provoking episodes that will challenge viewers’ ideas of what is possible within the Marvel Universe. With its animated format, the series has the freedom to explore different art styles and visual effects, creating a fresh and visually stunning viewing experience.

Furthermore, ‘What If?’ features an incredible ensemble of actors who lend their voices to the animated characters, including many familiar faces from the Marvel Cinematic Universe. This adds an extra layer of authenticity and familiarity for fans.


With its unique storytelling approach and alternative realities, ‘What If?’ is set to be an exhilarating addition to the Marvel Universe. With nine episodes in its first season, fans will have plenty of thrilling adventures to look forward to. From exploring different character arcs to witnessing unexpected outcomes, ‘What If?’ offers a fresh perspective on familiar stories and is sure to keep viewers entertained. So get ready to embark on a journey through the multiverse with ‘What If?’


1. How many episodes are there in “What If?” season 1?

The first season of “What If?” consists of 9 episodes.

2. When was “What If?” released on Disney+?

“What If?” was released on Disney+ on August 11, 2021.

3. How often are new episodes of “What If?” released?

New episodes of “What If?” are released weekly on Wednesdays.

4. Who are some of the characters featured in “What If?”?

Some of the characters featured in “What If?” include Peggy Carter, T’Challa, Doctor Strange, and many more.

5. Is “What If?” set in the same universe as the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU)?

Yes, “What If?” is set in the same universe as the Marvel Cinematic Universe but explores alternate storylines.

6. Can I watch “What If?” without prior knowledge of the MCU?

While prior knowledge of the Marvel Cinematic Universe adds depth, “What If?” can still be enjoyed as a standalone series.

7. Will there be additional seasons of “What If?”?

At the time of writing, there has been no official confirmation regarding additional seasons of “What If?”

8. Who provides the voices for the characters in “What If?”?

Many of the original actors from the Marvel Cinematic Universe reprise their roles by providing the voices for their characters in “What If?”

9. Are the episodes of “What If?” interconnected or standalone stories?

While each episode of “What If?” tells its own unique story, there are some connections and overarching themes throughout the season.

10. Can I expect surprises and unexpected twists in “What If?”

Absolutely! “What If?” explores alternative possibilities, allowing for unexpected twists and surprises throughout the series.